Quick trend report: OBI belt

So I think I might keep the Quick trend report as a thing, because I don’t always have enough material to write a whole trend breakdown, so i have to stack up posts and then mash them up. But I often just hear or see one thing that might become a trend, and if I have to stack I usually forget to put some things in. So, we’ll see…

Today I want to talk about OBI belts. So the OBI belt is basically a sash that Japanese martial artists wear to show their rank, and the royal woman wear as a sign of formality. Right now it is actually starting to become a trend at NYFW seeing as though designers like Phillip Lim, Dries van Noten and Antonio Azzuolo are putting them on both man and woman. It’s awesome because its very comfortable and you can wear it with giant shirts/sweaters/jackets… And of course kimonos.

KIM_2108             LIM_2108               azzuolo_022_1366

Leave a comment